Antoine d'Agata was born on 19th November 1961 in Marseille. At the age of 17, he interrupted his studies to live in the world of the night. For twelve years, he lived and travelled in some twenty countries. In 1991, while living in New York, and with no photographic experience, he enrolled at the International Center of Photography where he studied with Nan Goldin and Larry Clark. In 1993, he moved to France, worked as a bricklayer and stopped his photographic practice until 1997.

 

In 1998 his first book, Mala Noche, was published. The following year, he joined the Vugallery created by Christian Caujolle. In 2001, he received the Niépce prize. InSeptember 2003, the exhibition 1001 Nuits was inaugurated in Paris, accompaniedby the publication of two books, Vortex and Insomnia.

 

In 2004, he joined theMagnum agency, published his fifth book, Stigma, and made his first short film, ElCielo del muerto. In 2006, the photographer shot his second film, Aka Ana, inTokyo, and his latest four-hour feature, White Noise, brings together the voices of 24 women. Antoine d'Agata won the Photographic Book Prize at the Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie d'Arles in 2013 for the book Anticorps, published the same year in a major exhibition at Le Bal, Paris. Antoine d'Agata's work can be read as an exploration of contemporary violence from two distinct perspectives: The violence of the day or economic and political violence (migration, refugees, poverty and war) and the violence of the night or violence generated by social groups marginalised by poverty (survival through crime, narcotic addiction, sexual excess).

 

His latest books (out of print) are VIRUS(2020), published by Studio Vortex, which documents the Covid-19 pandemic, andAntoine d'Agata - Francis Bacon (2020), published by The Eye, which bringstogether the works of both artists.For the past thirty years, Antoine d'Agata has lived and photographed all over the world. To date, he has published some fifty works. Author, photographer and filmmaker, he is a member of the Magnum Photos agency and his work is represented by the Galerie des filles du Calvaire in Paris, Magnum Gallery inLondon, MEM Gallery in Tokyo, Kahmann Gallery in Amsterdam, Carles Tache Gallery in Barcelona. Internationally renowned, his work has been the subject ofnumerous solo exhibitions, has been shown in various museums and has been included in public and private collections throughout the world.

Processing...
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Join our Newsletter
ErrorHere

Antoine d’Agata est né le 19 novembre 1961, à Marseille. Dès l’âge de 17 ans, il interromptses études pour vivre dans le monde de la nuit. Durant douze ans, il vit et voyage à traversune vingtaine de pays. Alors qu’il séjourne à New York en 1991, et sans expériencephotographique, il s’inscrit à l’International Center of Photography où il étudie avec NanGoldin et Larry Clark. En 1993, il s’installe en France, travaille comme maçon et interromptsa pratique photographique jusqu’en 1997.

 

En 1998 parait son premier livre, Mala Noche.L’année suivante, il rejoint la galerie Vu à peine créée par Christian Caujolle. En 2001, ilreçoit le prix Niépce. En septembre 2003 est inaugurée à Paris l’exposition 1001 Nuits,qu’accompagne la sortie de deux ouvrages, Vortex et Insomnia.

 

En 2004, il intègre l’agenceMagnum, publie son cinquième livre, Stigma, et tourne un premier court-métrage, El Cielodel muerto. En 2006, le photographe tourne son deuxième film, Aka Ana, à Tokyo, sondernier long métrage de 4 heures, White Noise rassemble les voix de 24 femmes. Antoined’Agata a notamment remporté le Prix du livre photographique des RencontresInternationales de la Photographie d’Arles en 2013 pour l’ouvrage Anticorps, publié lamême année lors d’une importante exposition au Bal, à Paris.L’oeuvre d’Antoine d’Agata peut être lue comme l’exploration de la violence contemporainedans deux perspectives distinctes : La violence du jour ou violence économique et politique(migration, réfugiés, pauvreté et guerre) et la violence de la nuit ou violence générée pardes groupes sociaux marginalisés par la pauvreté (survie par le crime, addiction narcotique,excès sexuel).

 

Ses derniers livres (épuisés) sont VIRUS (2020), publié par les éditions StudioVortex, qui documente la pandémie du Covid-19 et Antoine d’Agata – Francis Bacon (2020)publié par les éditions The Eye, qui réunit les oeuvres des deux artistes.Depuis une trentaine d’années, sans port d’attaches, Antoine d’Agata vit et photographie àtravers le monde. A ce jour, il a publié une cinquantaine d’ouvrages. Auteur, photographeet cinéaste, il est membre de l’agence Magnum Photos et son travail est représenté par laGalerie des filles du Calvaire à Paris, Magnum Gallery à Londres, MEM Gallery à Tokyo,Kahmann Gallery à Amsterdam, Carles Tache Gallery à Barcelone. De renomméeinternationale, l’oeuvre a fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions personnelles, a été montréedans différents musées et a intégré collections publiques et privées à travers le monde.

Processing...
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Join our Newsletter
ErrorHere